White Rabbit / Brown Deer - Reisverslag uit Osaka, Japan van Albert Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu White Rabbit / Brown Deer - Reisverslag uit Osaka, Japan van Albert Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu

White Rabbit / Brown Deer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Albert

20 Oktober 2012 | Japan, Osaka

The quiet, easy-going, hung-over days are the days most suitable for writing blogs. There's nothing to do except eating, sleeping, and watching online episodes of RuPaul's Drag Race. The laundry is drying all over your room, you just skyped with some people back home, and your reflection in the computer screen says: 'WRITE BLOG NOW!'. Okay, okay, I'll write it.

Did you ever see the hang-over? I'm proud to say I haven't, but my basic knowledge of the plot says I'm in a similar state of mind. What the cough happened yesterday night? My head is hurting. My legs are soar. My throat is dry like the Gobi desert. There's an intense smell of smoke in my clothes. For some reason, Jefferson Airplane's 'White Rabbit' is stuck in my head. There's only one conclusion: karaoke. Ugh.

After my first month in Japan, I have met a bunch of people from all over the world (but mostly from, sorry people, Europe) to do fun stuff with. Fun stuff in yesterday's case was going to a Nomi Hodai (All You Can Drink. It's beautifully disasterous), where you spend 20 euros to drink as much beer, tequila, plum wine, undefinable 80% alcohol throat-burning shots and gin/tonics as you want for 2 whole hours. Jojo and I biked to our friends dorm to bake pancakes, and then a whole group of us went of to the bar, only to be followed by going to a karaoke bar. Jefferson Airplane, you always catch me by surprise.

The rest of the night was a vague blur of U2-songs, coca cola and Japanese signs everywhere. I still don't know how to read. It's a miracle that Jojo and I found our way back home in about an hour. Last time we went out, we got totally lost in some park and spent 2 hours asking random strangers that were still up if they knew where Minoo was, only to be answered that is was 'hidari mikamokamari', or something like that.

Today was still nice though, as our Russian friend Asya came to Minoo to have some coffee and cakes. And I finally found some time to write my blog. Not that I've been that bus with uni: it's quite manageable untill now. It's just all those new impressions that leave so little time for reflecting on them! Coolest thing from the last 2 weeks: The Euroculture-students (Delilah, Atka, Jojo and me) went to Nara. Nara's a city which borders Osaka, and it has some beautiful temple. What is more, they have deer walking all around the parks and temples, and you can feed them from your hand and you feel loved. It was great :). Pictures on facebook NOW!

Tomorrow, I'm going to play basketball again (even if my back still hurts from last practice / doing Aikido to fanatically). And the day after, i'm a climb me some mountain with two of my new-found friends. For now: have a good night / day (it's almost midnight here now), hasta la vista en tot de volgende villa.

Ai, (=love)

Albert

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Albert

Traveling around for my Erasmus Mundus Master Euroculture, at the moment.

Actief sinds 09 Juli 2011
Verslag gelezen: 364
Totaal aantal bezoekers 22226

Voorgaande reizen:

13 September 2012 - 15 Januari 2013

Osaka semester

19 Januari 2012 - 19 Augustus 2012

EuroCulture @ Uppsala

13 Augustus 2011 - 27 Augustus 2011

Travel Champion

Landen bezocht: